Home Owners Association Involvement

3 06 2011

Last night, Chris and I stopped by the home of a board member of the Home Owners Association.  We needed to fill out a ballot for a vote taking place this month.  While we were there, some talk about me joining the board started.  Yikes!  I won’t lie, I’ve thought about it before but I worry that I don’t have enough time to give.  I have no idea how to be a board member.  I feel it’s a very adult thing to do.  The question is will they force me to actually grow up?  Surely not!

Pros:  I’ve been wanting/needing a way to feel involved in a community.  After John’s funeral there’s been a pull inside me to go back to Church.  I haven’t actually done that yet, but I feel part of that pull is due to the sense of community that I’ve been missing for so long.  Joining the board would not fill that spiritual hole but it would feel good to be a part of something.

Cons:  I’m worried that I don’t have enough time to give.  I work.  A lot at times.  Also, I’ve heard that many of my neighbors complain a lot to the board members.  I do not do well with criticism and cannot stand to think  I’m letting someone down.  Those two things coupled with my fear of failure makes me very pro-active and a hard worker.

As I’m writing this, I think I’ve decided to go to the next meeting we have scheduled.  I’ll get a feel for the group of people I’d be working with and a sense of what I’d be doing for the board.  After that, I can make a decision.  In the meantime I need to work on my bio.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

