“Real” Strawberry Muffins

24 05 2011

I held out on posting this recipe until I received some reviews back from my co-workers.  To be honest, I wasn’t a huge fan of these muffins, but I think I found out something about myself.  I’m not so sure I’m a big fan of baked goods made with brown sugar.  I made some chocolate chip cookies some time ago that had brown sugar in them and I just didn’t fall in love with them even though other people said they were really good.  So, I’ll be on the look out for more evidence of my theory.  BUT, that means I’m really excited to say that everyone seems to like these muffins.  I made a ton of them – four dozen.  Yeah, I said four dozen!  I was really bummed thinking I was going to have to pitch them all.  No need to now!

I made double and 1/2 of this recipe since I had about 4 cups of chopped strawberries.  These were the strawberries that Katlyn and Sarah picked this weekend at Huber’s!

Ingredients for Muffins
1 1/2 Cups, Chopped Fresh Strawberries
1/2 Cup White Sugar
1/4 Cup Brown Sugar
1/4 Cut Butter, Softened
2 Eggs
1 Teaspoon Vanilla Extract
1 3/4 Cups All-Purpose Flour
1/2 Teaspoon Baking Soda
1/4 Teaspoon Salt

First, combine the strawberries and white sugar.  Let them set for at least an hour then drain the liquid into a bowl to use for the muffin mix.

Preheat oven to 425

Cream the butter and brown sugar, beat in the eggs, then stir in the vanilla.  Stir the flour, baking soda, and salt together.  Then add the flour mix into the creamed mix, little by little.  Add in the strawberry juice as well.  As my mix would get thick, I would add in the strawberry juice to help with stirring.  Once that’s all mixed together, add in the strawberries.  For half of my muffins, I added tiny chocolate chips to the batter.  YUM!  Those muffins were good – probably because the chocolate helped to mask the brown sugarish?

Ingredients for Topping:
1/4 Cup All-Purpose Flour
1/4 Cup Brown Sugar

1/2 Teaspoon Ground Cinnamon
2 Tablespoons Cold Butter

Combine flour, brown sugar and cinnamon.  Add the butter and stir until you get a crumbly mixture.

I added a spoonful or so of the topping onto each muffin before baking.  I put the muffins in the oven for 7 minutes, then turned them so they’d bake as even as possible and put them on for another 8 minutes.

Check out the Before and After baking pictures.  They sure do look delicious!

Actions

Information

2 responses

24 05 2011
meeshiesmom

Your brown sugar remark is too funny. I’ve never been able to make a tasty strawberry muffin but I’m keeping this recipe in mind.

24 05 2011
kellelynn

Everyone really liked them. I even had people in other departments email me today thanking me for them! I’d try them with white sugar instead of brown sugar in the muffin mix if I were you. : )

Leave a Reply

