Caramel Apple Salad

13 05 2011

This is a recipe I got from my Aunt Ethel.  It’s delicious and pretty easy.  It makes a whole heck of a lot so definitely a good one to take to a party, which is what I did.  It was a tasty addition to the Derby party dessert line-up.

Ingredients:
3 Granny Smith Apples
3 Red Gala Apples (I did four since they’re small)
2 – 8 ounce Cream Cheese, softened
1 -16 ounce Cool Whip
1 Cup Sugar
2 TSP Rum

In a large bowl, combine the Sugar, Cream Cheese and Rum.  Cream together until smooth.  I had another recipe recently that told me to “cream” together some ingredients.  I had to look it up online because I had no idea what that meant.  haha.  Basically, you use a mixer until it’s all smooth and creamy.  Like this:

 

Next, you fold in the Cool Whip.  It’s a yummy concoction that you could use as a fruit dip.

Apples and Snickers are then cut up.  Leave the skins on the apples.  It’ll make the chopping go faster and give the salad some color.  Snickers are hard to cut up!  Especially when you’re doing six of them!  They look great with their chocolate tastiness.

 

 

Put everything together and mix well.  Refrigerate for a few hours and serve!  This makes a shitload.  Great dish for large gatherings.  Everyone loved it at the Derby party and I had requests for the recipe.  Big HIT.  Thanks, Aunt Ethel.

Update!  My sister does not like chocolate so she used Paydays instead of Snickers.  I didn’t try it myself, but she said it was really good.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

