Dear Youngster Me,

4 03 2011

There’s been a lot of talk about what advice you’d give if you could speak to your teenage self.  Share some wisdom that looking back you wish you would have been armed with as you traveled through life.

There are songs with this theme.  P!nk has one that’s really great and there’s a country male artist that sings one that I really like. 

This week, the Voice Tribune had an article about this as well.  They asked well-known ladies in our community, as well as women like you and me, what they would tell that young lady they used to be if given the chance.  My favorite is…

 “Don’t worry about being perfect. Take chances. Make mistakes.” – Melanie Studer

Here’s the link if you’d like to read the full Voice Tribune article.

So, now it’s time to think…what would I tell that younger gal that was me?

  • Start working with Mrs. Binder immediately Freshman year on ways to get scholarships to College.  Go for it and go for it hard.  You want to go to College and you can do it with the proper funding.
  • Settling in order to please others is what you do best…please know that it’s okay to do what you want.  It is your life, after all. 
  • Since I am intervening and hopefully your paths will not cross naturally, I need to tell you that no matter where life takes you, find William Benzel.  He’ll be your best friend and you will find a Very Special You through your friendship.
  • Surprise!  You really DO want kids.
  • At some point, it will feel like your heart has been ripped right out of your chest and it’s being twisted in front of you.  Remember that the decision that will lead to this is necessary.  And know that you will survive.  (See Point #3 again.)
  • You have a hard time with it, but try to live in the moment.
  • You are beautiful.  You are strong.
  • Trust your gut.  You have great instincts.
  • LIVE your life! 

Hmm, maybe I should take some of this advice now and apply it to my thirties while I still have a chance.

When I first started this post, I didn’t think I would have much to say.  I feel that I’ve lived my life with no regrets so far – that’s because I also feel that I’m still young enough to make things happen that have slipped through my fingers. 

Now it’s your turn, Dear Reader.  What would you tell that young boy or girl?  What is it that you wish you had known earlier in life?  Do you really think you would have listened?  Would that teenage you have taken your own advice?

Actions

Information

2 responses

4 03 2011
denise

Good advice, here, methinks. I wonder, though. . .I wouldn’t be where I am today (and I am happy, happy, happy) if it wasn’t for all those past missteps, so maybe the most important piece of advice is: Breathe. You’ll be okay. Just keep pushing forward, because you’ll get where you want to be eventually.

4 03 2011
Kelly Sullivan

Hmm, may have to give this some thought.

Leave a Reply

