Mountain Dew Cupcakes

27 11 2010

Everyone knows that Chris LOVES his Mountain Dew.  That’s just about the only thing he drinks and we purchase a ton of it!  So when I found this recipe, it was a no-brainer about whether or not I was going to try it out and I was very pleased with the outcome. 

Cake Ingredients:

 1 box of lemon flavored cake mix (Duncan Hines Extra Moist if you can find it) 
I used Yellow for this first run!
3 eggs
3/4 cup of oil
1 1/3 cup of Mountain Dew (just about a full can)
1 teaspoon of vanilla

Icing Ingredients:

1 can of vanilla or lemon flavored icing
1 tablespoon of vanilla
green food coloring

Pre-heat your oven to 375 degrees.

In a large bowl, mix together the cake mix, eggs, oil and vanilla until well combined.  Then you can add the Mountain Dew.  The soda will foam up as it reacts to the cake mix and other ingredients.  I will say that the instructions I read told me to “be aware” and that the soda would foam up “substantially”.  I was expecting a volcano type reaction, but I didn’t get a show.

 The batter will be a little on the runny side, but that’s perfect.  Line your muffin cups with your liners and fill with the batter.  Fill each liner only about half full.  They will rise a lot, so try not to make them too full.  I was able to get 36 cupcakes out of this recipe!  Wow!  Perfect way to stretch your dollar.  Place the cupcakes in the oven for 18 – 22 minutes.  Remove the cupcakes when ready and let them cool while you mix the icing.

Simply mix the icing, vanilla and food coloring together until you reach the desired color.

Gently frost the cupcakes with the icing and add any special decorations for the occasion!

 These cupcakes were so moist; I couldn’t believe it.  Everyone that tried them were amazed.  Not to mention the cool factor to say they were made with Mountain Dew.  Most people loved the lemon icing, but I think I will try vanilla the next time.

 

 

Actions

Information

One response

10 09 2015
Amanda

I am so making these tommorow for my friends birthday thank you!

Leave a Reply

